AUS Youth Olympic Champions | Australian Olympic Committee

Australia has been represented at four Youth Olympic Games. A total of 56 athletes across the three summer editions (Singapore 2010, Nanjing 2014 and Buenos Aires 2018) have won gold medals.

Australia also won two bronze medals at the Innsbruck Winter Youth Olympics and four silver (including one team silver) and one bronze medal at Lillehammer 2016.

2018 Buenos Aires

The third summer Youth Olympic Games took place in 2018 at Buenos Aires, Argentina. Australia was represented by 88 athletes competing across 32 sports.

Four athletes returned as Youth Olympic Champions. They are:


Grace Kim, Karl Vilips >>>  Double golf for Australian Youth Olympic golfers


Keely Small – 800m >>>  Gold and silver for Australia at Youth Olympics track and field


Kaylee McKeown – 50m backstroke >>>  Kaylee McKeown sprints to backstroke title on golden day for Aussies


2014 Nanjing

At the second summer Youth Olympic Games in 2014 in Nanjing China, Australia was represented by 89 athletes competing across 23 sports.

Twenty-four athletes returned as Youth Olympic Champions. They are:


Jessica Thornton, Women's 400m A Final (52.51) - Day 7, 23 August 2014

Trae Williams, 8x100m Mixed International Relay - Day 10, 26 August 2014

Hockey 5s

Tim Howard, Corey Weyer, Max Hendry, Alec Rasmussen, Matthew Bird, Nathanael Stewart, Mackenzie Warne, Jonathan Bretheraton, Max Hughes, Men's Hockey5s - Day 11, 27 August 2014.  Athlete profiles >>>>

Rugby Sevens

Brooke Anderson Marioulla Belessis Shenae Ciesiolka Dominique Du Toit Kellie-Marie Gibson Raecene Mcgregor Caitlin Moran Tiana Penitani Amber Pilley Mackenzie Sadler Tayla Stanford Laura Waldie - Day 4, 20 August 2014:  Australia wins historic rugby sevens gold >>>


Brittany Dutton, Women's Triathlon (59:56) - Day 1, 17 August, 2014:  The race of her life >>>


2010 Singapore

The first Youth Olympic Games (YOG) was held in Singapore in 2010 as an initiative of the IOC with many facets of the YOG similar to what the AOC has incorporated their past five Australian Youth Olympic Festivals (AYOF).

In Singapore, Australia was represented by the maximum 100 athletes. The Australian Youth Olympic Team was very successful with 28 competitors returning as inaugural Youth Olympic Champions. 

Nicholas Hough - 110m Hurdles

Damien Hooper - Middleweight

Jessica Fox - K1 Slalom

Hockey (Men)
Daniel Beale, Robert Bell, Andrew Butturini, Ryan Edge, Jake Farrell, Casey Hammond, Jeremy Hayward, Daniel Mathiesen, Rory Middleton, Luke Noblett, Flynn Ogilvie, Jayshaan Randhawa, Byron Walton, Jordan Willott, Oscar Wookey, Dylan

Nicholas Schafer - 100m Breaststroke; Emily Selig - 200m Breaststroke; Madi Wilson, Emily Selig, Zoe Johnson, Emma McKeon - 4x100m Medley Relay; Max Ackermann, Justin James, Nicholas Schafer, Kenneth To - 4x100m Medley Relay