Boxers Aokuso, Parker and Hun... | Australian Olympic Committee

Boxers Aokuso, Parker and Huni win Tokyo 2020 quotas

Author imageAOC09 Mar 2020
Boxers Aokuso, Parker and Huni win Tokyo 2020 quotas

Paolo Aokuso, Caitlin Parker and Justis Huni fought their way to Tokyo 2020 quotas at the Asia/Oceania Boxing Qualifying Tournament in Amman, Jordan overnight.

Paolo Aokuso unanimously defeated Vietnam’s Manh Nguyen to lock in a tournament semi-final birth and a Tokyo 2020 quota, after knocking off 2019 World Championship silver medallist Dilshod Ruzmetov of Uzbekistan in the previous round. 

Caitlin Parker also won in emphatic fashion, beating Suyeon Seong of South Korea in a unanimous decision, while Justis Huni defeated New Zealand’s Leuila Mau’u to book his spot.

The boxers’ provisional qualification to Tokyo 2020 is pending nomination by Boxing Australia and selection by the Australian Olympic Committee in line with the selection criteria, expected later this year.

Harry Garside, Skye Nicolson, Anja Stridsman and Alex Winwood can all win their way to Tokyo in their bouts tonight (AEDT).